Google+Google+ PinterestPin


The work we do to safeguard endangered species and threatened habitats, and address global environmental threats, wouldn’t be possible without building strong and long-lasting relationships with our supporters and other partners.

To become a WWF Guardian or a WWF member, make a donation, support an appeal, or adopt a wild animal, please call us on 01483 426333 or email our Supporter care team

Individual supporters

We’re truly grateful for the generosity of our loyal supporters, who help us in many ways. They may become a member or donor, adopt a wild animal, take part in one of our events, or give their backing to our online campaigns. Their ongoing support provides the lifeblood of the charity.

WWF Guardians

This is a dedicated group of supporters who have collectively contributed more than £4.5 million to us since we launched our Guardian programme in 1994. Each Guardian pledges at least £1,000 a year to support one of our key projects. It helps us to address threats to the natural world where funding is needed most. They’re currently supporting our work in the Virunga mountains to help the world’s last remaining mountain gorillas.

To find out more about becoming a Conservation Champion or to donate through a trust or foundation please contact our philanthropy team. Email us
or call 01483 412520

Conservation Champions

Our Conservation Champions donate significant funds to help us address the world’s most serious environmental problems. We offer them our sincere thanks for their support this year:

IndividualsRoy Alderslade, Michael Armstrong, Michiel Bakker, Patrick Degorce, Mark Fanning, Sarah Greaves and Nick Harrison, David and Eleanor Holloway, Carol Kemm, Derek Potter and Anne Reece

Trusts and foundationsAmpelos Trust, Ernest Kleinwort Charitable Trust, Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, The Herd Lawson and Muriel Lawson Charitable Trust, The Hugh Symons Charitable Trust, The Ingram Trust, Jamma International, Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust, Marjorie Coote Animal Charity Trust, The Martin Laing Foundation, players of People’s Postcode Lottery, The Peter Dixon Charitable Trust, Peter Smith Charitable Trust, The Shears Foundation, Size of Wales, The Utermann Charitable Trust, The Waterloo Foundation, Whitley Animal Protection Trust

High-profile people

We gain strong support from a number of people who use their high profile to promote us. We greatly appreciate their participation in our work, which allows us to reach even more people across the world.

Tom Aikens, Amazing Arabella and the IT Kids, Steve Backshall, Annie Bean, Raymond Blanc OBE, Liz Bonnin, Rachel De Thample, Karen Edwards, Regan Gascogine, Finn and Jack Harries (JacksGap), Ken Hom OBE, Nicholas Hoult, Ching-He Huang, Sarah-Jane Mee, Jo Middleton, Sir Andy Murray, Aaron Ramsay, Ashley Roberts, Kevin Spacey, Cel Spellman, Sue Timney, Andrew Triggs Hodge OBE, Shane Williams

WWF ambassadors

WWF ambassadors are distinguished and influential people who are committed to our mission. We greatly appreciate their efforts in support of our work.

Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO CBE FRS, Field Marshal Sir John Chapple GCB CBE DL, The Rt Rev & Rt Hon Richard Chartres KCVO DD FSA Bishop of London, Sir Ian Cheshire, Jane Davidson, Will Day, Bernard Donoghue, Professor Jonathan Drori CBE, John Elkington, Ben Fogle, Alastair Fothergill, Anna Friel, Sir Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Nicola Howson, Sir Richard Kleinwort Bt, Graeme Le Saux, Alistair McGowan, Guilda Navidi-Walker, Stephen Poliakoff CBE, Jonathon Porritt CBE, Lewis Gordon Pugh OIG, Lord David Puttnam CBE, Simon Reeve, Miranda Richardson, Professor Callum Roberts, Lord Rose, Lord Turner of Ecchinswell, Will Young

WWF-UK fellows

We created the role of Fellow of WWF-UK to acknowledge the very special contribution that trustees, ambassadors, committee members and others have made to WWF-UK – often over the course of many years and working at the highest levels to promote our work. We may extend invitations to become Fellows to such supporters when their official term of office comes to an end. Fellows are appointed for an initial term of five years.

Sir Rudolph Agnew, His Excellency Chief Emeka Anyaoku, Richard Aylard CVO, Mike Barry, Steve Bass, Nick Brett, Steve Broad, Dr David Bryer, Simon Burall, The Hon James Buxton, Pamela Castle OBE, Mark Chambers, Ian Christie, Dame Julia Cleverdon CVO CBE, Rita Clifton CBE, Colin Day, Professor Sir Ian Diamond FBA FRSE FAcSS, Jeremy Edwards, Lord Grade of Yarmouth CBE, David Gregson, Dr Charlotte Grezo, Ivan Hattingh, Nick Hood CVO CBE, Sir John Houghton CBE FRS, Baroness Howe of Idlicote, Chris Ingram, Anders Johansson, David Jones, Rt Revd James Jones DD DL, Peter Jones OBE, Lady Clare Kerr, Dr Alan Knight OBE, Professor Sir John Lawton, Dr Sir Christopher Lever Bt FLS FRGS, Stephen Love, Professor David Macdonald CBE, John Manktelow, Dr Helen Marquard, Professor Stephen Martin FRSA, Kevin McCloud MBE, Deborah Meaden, George Medley OBE, Derek Munn, Robert Napier CBE FRCS, Martin Palmer, Simon Pepper OBE, Professor Adrian Phillips CBE, Bert Piedra, Dr David Potter CBE, Professor Sir Ghillean Prance FRS VMH, Helen Prenn OBE, Andrew Reicher, Nick Ross, Sir David Smith FRS FRSE, Professor Robert Swan OBE, David Taylor-Smith MBE, Tessa Tennant, Sir Crispin Tickell GCMG KCVO, Dr Camilla Toulmin, Dr Valentin von Massow, Ros Wade, Terry Waite CBE, Sir James Weatherall KCVO KBE DL, Charles Williams, Kathy Willis, Frank Windsor, Sir Robert Worcester KBE DL

For information about getting your business involved, please Contact us

Businesses that support us

We have many rewarding partnerships with the business world. These help us to deliver our vital conservation programmes while promoting sustainable business policy and practice. We’d like to thank the following companies for generously supporting our work this year:

Alpro, Coca-Cola, HSBC, John West, MBNA, M&S, Next, Pentland, SABMiller, Sodexo, Sky

And we’d like to thank all members of our Business Club – our programme for small and medium-sized businesses.

If you’d like to leave your own lasting legacy that will help to fund our work, please email our Legacy team
or call us on 01483 426333

Leaving a lasting legacy

We would like to pay tribute to everyone who remembered us in their wills, and to friends and relatives who made memorial donations. Every legacy is of great value to our work. The following people left especially generous bequests during the year:

Mrs SR Amner (aka Hide), Mrs PL Baxter, Mrs AM Black, Mrs CH Brown, Ms KCAP Cadman, Miss HM Cant, Mr MS Cox, Dr J Critchley, Mrs SK Daborn, Mrs DM Davies, Mr MM Davis, Mr BW Dawson, Mr DLE Edwards, Mr GE Frampton, Mrs DF French, Mrs AM Gannon, Mrs BL Gauk-Roger, Miss JE Goss, Miss CPS Griffiths, Mr CR Gwynn, Mr PF Harvey, Mr ST Haynes, Mr N Headley, Mrs B Hills, Mrs HM Jackson, Mrs MM James, Mrs PBJ Johnson, Miss MJ Kerswell, Mr JD Land, Mrs GM Leonard, Mrs MM Lisle, Mrs BJ Long, Miss BJ Lucas, Mrs L Papi, Mr AFJ Phillips, Ms M Pitts, Mr J Pritchard, Miss JB Radford, Mr MWJ Robertson, Mr DJ Rooke, Mr DS Smith, Mrs JM Smith, Mr PFS Spencer, Miss SM Thom, Mr GH Turner, Miss MD Walker, Mr J Ward, Mrs JM Watson, Miss RJ Wells, Miss VL Wetton, Mr JTG Wickens, Mr AR Zambra

WWF-UK trustees and principal officers

As at 31 December 2016


HRH The Prince of Wales KG KT GCB OM

Trustees emeriti

Sir Martin Laing CBE, The Hon Sara Morrison, Ed Smith CBE


Andrew Cahn (chair), Jane Cotton, Michael Dixon, Natalie Gross, Ila Kasem, Georgina Mace, David Phillips (treasurer), Malcolm Press, Mark Richardson, Richard Sambrook

Principal officers

Chief executive: Tanya Steele, Executive director of communications and fundraising: Alison Lucas, Executive director of global programmes: Glyn Davies, Executive director of operations: Robert Hardy